Install syslog.service Alias for newer systemd versions
authorMichael Biebl <biebl@debian.org>
Thu, 1 Mar 2012 15:57:57 +0000 (16:57 +0100)
committerRainer Gerhards <rgerhards@adiscon.com>
Fri, 2 Mar 2012 10:00:15 +0000 (11:00 +0100)
From the syslog.socket unit file of newer systemd versions:

The default syslog implementation should make syslog.service a
symlink to itself, so that this socket activates the right actual
syslog service.

Examples:

/etc/systemd/system/syslog.service ->
/lib/systemd/system/rsyslog.service
/etc/systemd/system/syslog.service ->
/lib/systemd/system/syslog-ng.service

Best way to achieve that is by adding this to your unit file
(i.e. to rsyslog.service or syslog-ng.service):

[Install]
Alias=syslog.service

http://cgit.freedesktop.org/systemd/systemd/tree/units/syslog.socket#n26

rsyslog.service.in

index c03c900..aa9e5db 100644 (file)
@@ -9,3 +9,4 @@ StandardOutput=null
 
 [Install]
 WantedBy=multi-user.target
+Alias=syslog.service